Ripley’s Game by Patricia Highsmith

I read this book partly because have enjoyed several times the excellent Anthony Minghella film, ‘The Talented Mr Ripley’, and partly because I heard the philosopher John Gray, whom I admire, praising the Ripley novels.

It is an interesting read, though I feel it helped to know that Ripley is a psychopath before I did. Taken as a freestanding, one-off read, I think the book might be a bit puzzling.

There is a clever deadpanness to the language that does highlight Ripley’s weird disconnection from normal human emotions. He kills someone then puts on some music, while the body is still warm; he deliberately embroils someone in mafia killings, just to see how they react. So it is an interesting book, if a little bit dated, The dialogue is quite wooden but the psychology of the plot is excellent.

I realised as I read it that I used to look at my mother’s copy as a child. A phrase stuck with me, from a scene when one of the characters meets a man with a large scar: ‘He didn’t say anything about the scar but Jonathan suspected a dull knife in a nasty fight somewhere.”. Not a great line of poetry or even of prose, but I have always remembered it. Funny how the memory retains these seemingly random things and it was nice to make the connection over the decades. Perhaps only books can do that.

Leave a Reply

